RSS

Arlene Martinez-Vazquez: How I Fell in Love with Theatre

29 Apr
When it comes to Theatre, I guess I have always seen myself as a ‘late bloomer’. I didn’t really get involved until my twenties and even then, it wasn’t quite love at first sight. I knew I wanted to direct. I knew I could not feel hunger, pain, cold or warm for as long as I was in a rehearsal or at a performance. But I don’t think I could have articulated at that time what it was that drew me to Theatre or why I thought I belonged in it. In fact, I don’t think I was 100% sure I belonged.
It wasn’t until February 2008 when I had the opportunity to see Pina Bausch’s Cafe Muller and Rite of Spring in London, that I knew exactly why I was doing Theatre and where I should be heading. Those dance pieces were more theatrical than many pieces of Theatre I have seen.
Tall order, though: Falling in love with Theatre because you get a glimpse that a different world is possible.
___________
Arlene Martinez-Vazquez is eSe Teatro’s literary manager, and will be directing Rose Cano’s upcoming Don Quixote and Sancho Panza: Homeless in Seattle for eSe’s mainstage this fall.
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 29, 2013 in News

 

Tags:

Comments are closed.

 
